The Dirt on Dirt

I learned a long time ago that what you put in the ground before you plant will either help or hurt things to grow. If you throw bad stuff into your planting area like chemicals and bad waste then when you plant a seed this is what will feed it.

It is not easy to understand that from rotting things can come beautiful growing things too.

I have a friend who lived down the street from me in Louisiana, and her father and two brothers were avid bass fishermen. Nothing goes to waste in the south and that includes fish heads and entrails.  They would go into the back corner of their yard and turn over a spade full of dirt and bury the fish heads.

You could always tell when they were preparing to start their backyard garden because this gut retching smell would hit the neighborhood when they tilled up the soil in preparation of spring planting. Remember the rotting fish heads and entrails!

Next thing you know they planted and then had some of the best vegetables I have ever tasted.

I am no where near the farming phenoms they were and are still today but I am learning. I am saving and using left over coffee grounds for my tomatoes when I remember and we have started a mulching bed of sorts in the back area of our large back yard.

Now when I plant I prefer to use organic soil. I seem to get the best results from it. Good steady growth with solid roots and stalks, just really hardy plants. I have been very happy with the Kellogg Garden Products brand of organic potting and gardening soil.

 

 

 

~ by IdaFarrar on June 28, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
